Penalties for Underage Drinking & Alcohol Possession
Alcohol + Minors = Penalties
Providing alcohol to an individual under the age of 21PENALTIES: Maximum $2,500 fine and up to a year in jail for a misdemeanor offense. Felony offense can result in a prison sentence of a year or more and fines up to $25,000.
New Social Host Law!It is a $500 minimum fine (maximum $2,500 fine and up to one year in jail) to knowingly allow underage drinking to occur at a private residence. If serious injury or death occurs because of this activity, individuals are subject to a Class 4 felony (up to three years in prison and fines up to $25,000).
Possession, consumption, purchase, or receipt of alcohol by an individual under the age of 21PENALTIES: Three-month suspension of driving privileges for court supervision, six months for first conviction, one year for second conviction, and license revocation for subsequent convictions, and license revocation for subsequent convictions.
Illegal transportation of alcohol is an automobile by an individual under the age of 21PENALTIES: Transporting alcohol is illegal, and anyone in the vehicle can be charged with a maximum $1,000 fine. For the driver, the penalty is mandatory driver's license suspension for one year on the first offense, and mandatory one-year revocation for subsequent offenses.
Underage Drinking & Driving
"Use It and Lose It" - Zero Tolerance(Blood Alcohol Content over 0.0 while driving a vehicle)
1st Offense: Three-month suspension of driving privileges; six-month suspension with refusal of alcohol testing.
2nd Offense (before age 21): One-year suspension of driver's license; two-year suspension with refusal of testing.
DUI Arrest Driving Sanctions(BAC of at least .08%, a showing of other drugs, or refusing to submit to alcohol or drug testing)
1st Offense: Six-month suspension of driving privileges; one-year suspension with refusal of testing.
New Law! To obtain driving relief, you MUST be 18+ years old, serve 30 days of "hard" suspension, and drive a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) equipped vehicle.
2nd Offense (within 5 years): One-year suspension of driving privileges; three-year suspension with refusal of testing. No driving relief possible.
Underage DUI Convcitions
2nd Conviction: Up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500. Revocation of driver's license for minimum of five years or until age 21, whichever is longer. Mandatory minimum imprisonment of five days (or 240 hours of community service).
Aggravated DUI:Any DUI resulting in a felony charge, including a DUI resulting in great bodily harm or death; a third or subsequent DUI conviction; or committing a DUI without a valid license, permit, or insurance.
- Imprisonment of up to 14 years for DUI resulting in the loss of life.
- Imprisonment of up to 28 years for multiple fatalities.
- Felony charges vary for offense from a Class 4 felony (one three years imprisonment) to a Class X felony (6-30 years).
- Minimum revocation periods vary for offense from a minimum of one year to mandatory life.
This is a message from the Illinois Liquor Control Commission, Illinois Secretary of State (Printed Jan. 2013). To find out more, visit www.DontBeSorry.org.